Inter-regional consultation between Regions One and Two – focus on community of Manawarin

DPI, Guyana, Saturday, June 16, 2018

In an effort to deliver effective and efficient services to residents of Regions One (Barima-Waini) and Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam) the regional administrations met on Friday to discuss the way forward regarding the development of their respective communities.

Regional Informational Officer, Mark McLean told the Department of Public Information (DPI) that the community of Manawarin, that straddles both regions, came under focus. He disclosed that the discussions centred on matters of public security, health, education and social ills affecting the community.

It was agreed that a joint team of officers from the various sectors will visit the community in July to conduct an assessment. Their findings will be used to draft solutions to address the issues affecting Manawarin.

The health departments attached to both regions are expected to organise a joint health outreach to aid in the delivery of quality healthcare to the residents. McLean said emphasis will be placed on the care of infants and maternal mothers along with transfers of emergency cases.

Consideration has also been given to implementing teacher training programmes to improve the delivery of education. According to the informational officer, a significant number of children are not attending school, therefore the decision was taken to have official visits conducted by the relevant authorities to assist in the reducing the numbers of absentees.

Both teams have committed to continued collaboration to ensure the decisions agreed upon are achieved. To this end, the regional administrations agreed to hold this inter-regional consultation annually. Those present at this meeting were:

Region One, Regional Chairman ( RC )  Brentnol Ashley, accompanied by Regional Executive Officer (ag) Tikaram Bisessar, Regional Education Officer (REdO) Nigel Richards, Regional Health Officer (RHO) Cerdel McWatt, Regional Councillors Leandra Singh, Lucky Wilson and Eleini La Rose, among others.  Region Two Regional Executive Officer (REO) Rupert Hopkinson, Deputy Regional Executive Officer (DREO) Roop Kumar Persaud, Assistant Regional Executive Officer (AREO) Yvette Hastings, Administrative Officer  Maurice Walcott, Regional Health Officer (RHO) Afarah Khan, amongst others.

By: Neola Damon