Milton Fredricks new Toshao of Mainstay/Whyaka

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Milton Fredricks has been elected new Toshao of Mainstay/Whyaka, on the Essequibo Coast, Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam).

Fredricks, who will be serving as chairman of the village for the first time, takes over from Toshao Joel Fredricks, Chairman of the National Toshaos Council (NTC) who was not eligible for re-election.

Milton Fredericks was one of three persons, including PPP/C parliamentarian and a former Toshao Yvonne Pearson, vying for the post at the village’s election, today. He won by 158 votes, while Pearson obtained 139.

Additional, Wakapoa and Akawini in the Pomeroon River elected Howard Cornelius and David Wilson respectively. Both Toshaos are serving for the first time.

Elections for Toshaos and Councillors are ongoing in some 178 Indigenous Village across the country. Over 93 new village councils have been installed thus far, 16 of which are being led by women.

By: Synieka Thorne.

Milton Fredricks, newly elected Tosaho of Mainstay/Whyaka.