Opposition MPs absent from first sitting for 2019

─ 112th Sitting of National Assembly of the 11th Parliament convened today

DPI, Guyana, Thursday, January 3, 2019

Opposition Members of Parliament were today visibly absent from the 112th Sitting of National Assembly. All government MPs are present including Barbara Patricia Pilgrim who has replaced the now-expelled MP, Charrandas Persaud.

Speaker of the National Assembly, Dr. Barton Scotland made the announcement that a request of absence was made by the Opposition’s Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira to which he granted.

This comes on the heels of the December 21, 2018 vote against the government.

The government has since indicated that its work continues since the 2019 National Budget has already been approved and passed in the National Assembly and has also made it clear that it will legally challenge the constitutionality of the passage of the December 21 vote, if the need arises.

By: Isaiah Braithwaite.

Image: Keno George.


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.