GECOM chair to “render a decision” on elections timeline tomorrow

DPI, Guyana, Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Justice (ret’d) Claudette Singh will tomorrow render a decision on the timeline for the holding of General and Regional Elections.

Following a meeting today, one of the government-appointed Commissioners, Vincent Alexander told the media that the Chair decided to make the announcement tomorrow, following the failure of the opposition commissioners to present a proposal on a timeline for the elections requested by the Chair.

He explained that fellow government-appointed Commissioner Charles Corbin had heeded to the request and provided a detailed proposal, suggesting March 2020 for the elections.

One of the government-appointed Commissioners of GECOM, Vincent Alexander

During an address to the nation following a meeting with the United States-based Carter Centre on Monday, His Excellency, President David Granger said GECOM must be allowed to continue the task of preparing for the elections. He said the commission must assure the public that it is ready to conduct elections and advise him of its readiness to do so.

 “It would be reckless and irresponsible on my part to appoint a date for elections without the commission’s advice and assurance that it would be ready to conduct elections on such a date,” the president said.

According to the president, it is GECOMs’ responsibility to ensure adequate resources and staffing, the publication of the official list of electors, and administrative mechanisms for efficient polling, are implemented.

He also expressed full confidence in Justice (ret’d) Claudette Singh’s ability.

President Granger reiterated his administration’s respect for GECOM’s constitutionally safeguarded independence, noting its authorised responsibility for the conduct of General and Regional Elections, adding:

I look forward to the commission’s recommendation to the conduct of the credible election at the earliest time possible,” the Head of State noted.