GECOM swears in Returning and Ballot Officers

DPI, Guyana, Wednesday, January 8, 2020

The Guyana Elections Commission, (GECOM), on Wednesday swore in nine of 10 Returning Officers from nine administrative regions.

The representative from Region 5 was the absentee.

In brief remarks, GECOM Chair Ret’d. Justice Claudette Singh urged the officers to be diligent in their task and service.

“I’m asking you as you take this oath, this oath is a sacred oath, that you will perform your duties with the best of your abilities, discharge your duties well,” she said.

Justice Singh added that she was looking forward to full cooperation from the officers.

Meanwhile, Chief Election Officer, Keith Lowenfield also called for professionalism.

“As you have sworn that you will carry out these functions without fear or favour and impartiality means quite a lot, not only to yourselves but to the CO and no doubt to the Commission, that you will treat with every elector. That you engage in a fair, impartial and transparent manner.”

GECOM swore in three ballot officers to facilitate early voting of the Disciplined Services. They were drawn from the Guyana Defence Force, the Guyana Police Force, and the Guyana Prison Service.

Lowenfield said GECOM was well on track to hold the March 2 Regional and General Elections.

The Returning Officers sworn in were: Trevor Harris (Region 1), Roxanne Smith (Region 2), Mohanlal Jagdeo (Region 3), Clairmont Mingo (Region 4), Savitri Mangar (Region 6), Glendon Fredricks (Region 7), Dwayne Marco (Region 8), John Abraham (Region 9), and Ransford Alleyne (Region 10).