Jamal John takes 18th Annual P&P Insurance Brokers cycling meet title

Wheelchair bound Isurdeen competes for the first time

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Intense cycling action in the 18th Annual P&P Insurance Brokers cycling meet saw Jamal John in a sprint to the finish line piping Christopher ‘Chicken Legs’ Griffith to win the 35 laps feature event, in the time of one hour 16 minutes and 51.97 seconds.

The action took place during the midday heat in the inner circuit of the National Park, on Saturday last. The race was indeed not one for the swift but those for who can endure. Starting with close to 50 riders, by lap 20, the race was led by John, Griffith, Paul Cho-Wee-Nam, Curtis Dey and Walter Grant-Stuart.

It was in the final lap, with about 200 metres to go, the nail biting finish began between John and Griffith. However, the experienced John managed to outsprint Griffith to take the title.

Aside from the exciting action between the riders, wheelchair-bound Uttamkumar Isurdeen also took part in the annual event. This is the first time that a person with a disability has participated in the event. Isurdeen did one lap around the circuit in a time of 10 minutes. He was the only such participant.

“It was okay for my first time, I hope that I will be able to continue to keep up the pace” Isurdeen stated.

Organiser of the event Hassan Mohamed, is encouraging more individuals like Isurdeen to participate in the event. “I would like to encourage more people like Uttamkumar to come forward because he gave me the impression he could do six laps in the National Park, he only did one this morning so with company, I think he can do it” he said.

Meanwhile, in a time of 11 minutes and 25.40 seconds, Leer Nunes won the Veterans Under-50 five laps race ahead of Warren McKay who finished second and Segun Hubband, third. The Veterans Over-50 race saw Ian Jackson taking first place followed by Kennard Lovell in second and Linden Blackman in third.

The Juveniles/Juniors 10-lap race saw Briton John copping first position in a time of 25 minutes and 36 seconds ahead of Dezil Huntley who finished second and Adealie Hodge in third.

By: Isaiah Braithwaite.