National COVID-19 Task Force Media release

– Phase 2 of re-opening to commence on July 3

Wednesday, July 1, 2020 – The National COVID-19 Task Force announces that Phase 2 of the six-phase reopening process will commence on Friday, July 3. As previously announced, Phase 1 of the re-opening process remains in effect until tomorrow, Thursday July 2.

Phase w is scheduled to commence on July 3 and last until 16, July 2020.

For Phase 2, all allowances and measures in Phase 1 will be maintained and, additionally, (i) the manufacturing sector, (ii) public sector construction and (iii) medical schools will be permitted to operate during the non-curfew hours.

Further, the 6pm to 6am curfew shall remain in effect in all administrative regions for the duration of Phase 2.

The gazetting of the order will be done shortly.

For the avoidance of doubt, Guyana’s airports remain closed to international passenger flights, save and except for flights which have been granted special permission, mainly for the repatriation of Guyanese who are stranded overseas.



COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.