New smart classroom commissioned at Stewartville Secondary School

To modernise the education sector with the infusion of technology, students of Stewartville Secondary School, Region Three are now benefitting from a state-of-the-art smart classroom commissioned on Monday. 

During the commissioning ceremony, Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand highlighted that the infusion of technology in the education system is integral.

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand interacts with students of the Stewartville Secondary School in the new smart classroom commissioned Monday

With the use of smart classrooms, educators can reach children in every region and this will help to lessen the disparities in the quality of education.

“And so, it is very important that we can make you into the best version of yourself. You will see a lot of efforts and investments happening in the education sector…” Minister Manickchand underscored.

The expanded vision is that every school must have at least one smart classroom.

Students were informed that they, too, have a responsibility to utilise all of the opportunities available to them.

“This is an indication of our commitment to you that you will always come first in our priorities, the children of this country, the next generation of leaders, because that is who you are. And you will see that translated into actions,” the education minister emphasised.

Meanwhile, Regional Chairman, Sheik Ayube, who delivered brief remarks emphasised that smart classrooms help to enhance the student’s learning so that they can be better equipped to function in today’s society.

The smart classrooms are equipped with an interactive board, audio system, smart cameras, and wireless television that allow teachers and students to connect and interact remotely. To guarantee that participants communicate effectively, motion-activated and speech-activated cameras with voice recognition are also placed.

Over the last three years, the government has established smart classrooms at President’s College, Queen’s College, St. Stanislaus College and Leonora, Moraikobai, Christiansburg, Charity, New Amsterdam, Skeldon Line Path, Brickdam and East Ruimveldt Secondary schools.

This year, 25 smart classrooms are expected to be established or enhanced at secondary schools across the country.