37th Regular CARICOM Heads meeting opens tomorrow in Georgetown

Georgetown, GINA, July 1, 2016

Heads of Government of Caricom States will be meeting in Georgetown from July 4- 6 for the 37th Regular Meeting for the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community.

According to information released by CARICOM, an opening Ceremony will be held on Monday, July 4 at the National Cultural Centre from 17:00 hours. The Ceremony will be addressed by CARICOM incoming Chairman, Prime Minister of Dominica, Roosevelt Skerrit, recently elected and re-elected Heads of Government, and CARICOM Secretary General Ambassador Irwin La Rocque.

The Plenary sessions will take place at the Pegasus Hotel on Tuesday 5 and the Heads will caucus on Wednesday, July 5.

Prime Minister of Dominica, Roosevelt Skerrit, will Chair this 37th CARICOM Heads of Government meeting in Georgetown.

It is expected that the Heads will deliberate on a wide range of issues including; regional security, the status and advancing the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME), correspondent banking and the de-risking threat to the Region, strengthening CARICOM-Cuba relations, the border dispute between Guyana and Venezuela and Belize and Guatemala, and the ongoing Haiti-Dominican Republic matter which has left a large numbers of Dominican Republic nationals of Haitian ancestry stateless.

The President of Chile, Michelle Bachlete will engage Heads of Government as the two sides seek to strengthen areas of common interest which include disaster related matters.

CARICOM comprises fifteen full member states; Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts-Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago. There are five Associate Members: Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.