Director of Sport congratulates IPL selectees

Director of Sport Christopher Jones congratulates Guyanese and West Indian players Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford and Keemo Paul who have been selected to play in the Indian Premier League 2019.

Hetmyer was selected by Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rutherford and Paul were selected by Delhi Capitals in today’s auction held in Jaipur, India.

The Director of Sport also congratulates the three other West Indian players who were selected – Carlos Brathwaite (Barbados), Nicholas Pooran (Trinidad and Tobago) and Oshane Thomas (Jamaica).

“All of Guyana looks forward to exciting performances from our trio in the marque tournament and we will be all glued to the broadcast as we follow their exploits,” Director Jones said.

“We are assured that they will each represent our proud nation of world class cricketing pedigree and the Golden Arrowhead with dignity and pride,” Jones said.

Other West Indian players who will play in IPL 2019 are:

Dwayne Bravo (Trinidad and Tobago) – Chennai SuperKings

Chris Gayle (Jamaica) – Kings XI Punjab

Andre Russell (Jamaica) – Kolkata Knight Riders

Sunil Narine (Trinidad and Tobago) – Kolkata Knight Riders

Evin Lewis (Trinidad and Tobago) – Mumbai Indians

Kieron Pollard (Trinidad and Tobago) – Mumbai Indians

Guyanese who previously participated in the IPL include Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Christopher Barnwell.