Lift of non-curfew measures in Regs. 5, 8 withdrawn

DPI, Guyana, Friday, June 19, 2020

The Minister of Public Health, Volda Lawrence has withdrawn an initial order to relax non-curfew measures in Regions five and eight.

These two districts are the only areas in Guyana which have not recorded a single case of coronavirus to date.

Initially, the National COVID-19 task force on Wednesday had announced that the country will embark on a phased reopening comprising six stages.

It was also stated that the two regions were allowed to relax non-curfew measures which include the operation of non-essential services such as barbershops and salons, boutiques and movement. The curfew would have remained in effect.

In an invited comment, Region Eight’s Regional Health Officer, Dr. Chrissundra Abdool supported the minister’s decision to withdraw the lift.

“The reason we are COVID free is that we were trying our best with the precautionary measures in place. To say we would no longer have non-curfew measures in effect could expose us and put us at risk of having a COVID-19 case.”

With the withdrawal of that order, these two regions will now join the rest of the country in the phased reopening process. Phase one will run from June 18 to July 2, 2020.

During this period:

  1. All food establishments (including street vendors) will be permitted to operate takeout and delivery services from 6am to 5pm.
  2. Ninety (90) minutes of exercise is allowed for citizens, Monday to Friday from 6am to 6pm in open public spaces.
  3. Public transport will be permitted to continue to operate at 50% passenger capacity.

Added to this some key measures will be upheld including the prohibition of gatherings of more than five and bars are also to remain closed. The curfew remains in effect from 6pm to 6am.