Ministers Dr. Ashni Singh, Oneidge Walrond sworn in as MPs

Senior Minister with responsibility for Finance within the Office of the President, Hon. Dr Ashni Kumar Singh and Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, Hon. Oneidge Walrond were sworn in as Members of the Twelfth Parliament today.

Dr. Singh and Minister Walrond took the Oath of Office as the 14th sitting of the National Assembly got underway at the Arthur Chung Conference Centre.

Both ministers will be sitting in Parliament as technocrats; that is non-elected members as provided for in the Constitution of Guyana.

On November 5, President Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali swore in Dr. Singh as Minister with responsibility for Finance.

Dr. Singh previously served as Finance Minister during the Donald Ramotar Administration. Prior to that, he served as Director of Budget in the Office of the Auditor General.  He holds a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Accounting and Finance from the University of Lancaster, London, United Kingdom.

Meanwhile, Minister Walrond was re-appointed Minister of Tourism on December 1, after issues surrounding her eligibility to sit in the National Assembly were ventilated in the courts. Minister Walrond, a former Magistrate, has 22 years before the Guyana Bar. She served as an advisor to the former Minister of Public Telecommunications.


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.