New MPs sworn in

DPI, Guyana, Friday, April 26, 2019

Four new Members of Parliament (MPs) were, on Friday afternoon, sworn in at the 113th sitting of the National Assembly in the presence of the Speaker of the House, Dr. Barton Scotland.

The new MPs, extracted from the APNU+AFC list, have taken up the vacant seats following the resignation of four government ministers. The honorable members are Mervin Williams, Tabitha Sarabo-Halley, Donna Mathoo and Reynard Ward.

The MPs took the oath of office before taking their place in the house.

The House Speaker also announced that he was in receipt of resignations for Opposition Members of Parliament, Gail Texieria, Ondinga Lamumba and Adrian Anamayah. The Speaker noted that replacements for the MPs are to be announced as the names have to be extracted from the PPP’s list.

Anara Khan

Images: Keno George