GNCUL gets new Interim Management Committee

This morning, a six-member Interim Management Committee (IMC) was installed for the Guyana National Co-operative Union Limited (GNCUL) in the Ministry of Labour’s boardroom, Lot 82 Brickdam St. Georgetown.

The IMC was installed by the authority of the Chief Co-operatives Development Officer, Ms. Debbie Persaud and is expected to last until January 30, 2022.

The six newly installed committee members are expected to carry out several functions which include but are not limited to, preparing a new structure for the Guyana National Co-operative Union Limited (GNCUL) that would aid in the resuscitation of the co-operative movement in Guyana, resuscitating all regional unions for the support of the co-operative societies, advancing the promotion of new co-operative societies of all types and the resuscitation of existing ones that can be made viable.

In addition, the committee will work together with the Department of Co-operative Societies to ensure all members receive training on the Co-operative and Anti Money Laundering Act 2009.

The newly appointed members are Ms. Onyekachukwu Eastman- Onwuzirike (the Officer in Charge), Mr. Garfield Sargeant, Ms. Shabana Omar, Mr. Earl Morris, Ms. Penelope Layne-Lewis and Mr. Kellawan Lall.

Present at the induction were the Minister of Labour, Hon. Joseph Hamilton and the Ministry’s Permanent Secretary, Mr. Bishram Kuppen. As he spoke to the members, Minister Hamilton outlined the importance of the committee executing its mandate transparently and efficiently and also stressed the important role co-operative societies play in the country’s development.