Regional Officials sworn in as JPs

Ministry of Communities, Georgetown, January 25, 2017 –  Four Regional Officials were on Friday sworn in as Justices of the Peace (JPs) during the inaugural session of the National Regional Development Consultative Committee (NRDCC).

Minister of Communities, Ronald Bulkan (at left) stands with regional officials; sworn in as Justices of the Peace, Chief Magistrate, Ann McLennan and Minister of State (ag) Raphael Trotman at the National Regional Development Consultative Committee (NRDCC).

The three males and the lone female, took the oath of office before Chief Magistrate, Ann McLennan in the presence of Acting Minister of State, Raphael Trotman and Minister of Communities, Ronald Bulkan.

Regional Chairman of Upper Demerara/Berbice (RDC 10), Renis Morian, was the first to take the oath of office before his peers.

Regional Vice Chairman, Earle Lambert of Demerara/Mahaica (Region #4), was the second to be administered the oath, joining Regional Chairman, Genevieve Allen, who already serves as Justice of the Peace.

He was followed by Regional Vice Chairman of Cuyuni/Mazaruni (Region 7) Olinda Griffith.

The last person to take the oath was Regional Vice Chairman, (Upper Demerara/Berbice), Elroy Adolph.


Chief Magistrate, Ann McLennan presents the certificate to Regional Vice Chairman, Olinda Griffith



COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.