You are elected to serve – Min. Henry to new councillors of New Amsterdam Municipality

– 4th Council to commence on January 1, 2019

DPI, Guyana, Thursday, November 29, 2018

Fourteen Councillors, ten from the A Partnership For National Unity (APNU), three, People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) and one, Alliance For Change (AFC), were on November 28, sworn in at the New Amsterdam Municipality.

The inaugural induction ceremony of the fourth council was held in the chambers of the New Amsterdam Mayor and Town Council; where Winifred Heywood and Wainwright McIntosh were re-elected Mayor and Deputy -Mayor respectively.

Minister of Education and resident, Dr. Nicolette Henry, in her remarks, congratulated the councillors and reminded them that their purpose is to serve.

“I would ask that you discharge your duties with efficiency and effectiveness… Put the people first. Each of us is here because we were elected and the people [residents] believe you can do the job, that’s why they have elected you. So, live up to the expectations of the citizens of this beautiful town.”

Mayor of New Amsterdam, Winifred Heywood told the councillors that, “it does not matter which political party you represent, when you enter into the council’s chambers you are a councillor of New Amsterdam and we are one body… From today we are the fathers and mothers of New Amsterdam and we are to complete our duties without fear or favour”.

Other Councillors who were confirmed include AFC candidate Quacy Isaacs; PPP members Zabarally Armogan, Dr. Orville Halley, Nalini Tahal and for the APNU, Olga Stephen, Patricia Lynch, Esan Vanderstoop, Keith Myers, Kirk Fraser, Pollian Schultz, Buster Wright and Sheeanta Lamber

Present too to witness the oaths being taken were Superintendent of New Amsterdam Prisons Deoraj Gyandat, Commander of B Division Senior Superintendent Paul Langevine, President of the Berbice Chamber of Commerce and Development Association (BCCDA) Ryan Alexander and Executive Member of the People’s National Congress, Barbara Pilgrim.

The fourth council will begin duty on January 1, 2019.

Story and Images: Kellon Rover.


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.