Better enforcement expected in future – Pres. Granger

― police’s divisional structure modified to coincide with administrational structure

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Several senior officers in the Guyana Police Force (GPF) took up posts as Police Commanders in the 10 administrative regions, effective September 30, 2019. His Excellency, President David Granger described the changes as necessary to ensure that the GPF executes its duties to the best of its abilities in every region.

“I’ve tried to erect a new architecture, appointing a new commissioner, deputy commissioners and ensure that certain reforms are put in place… The police’s divisional structure has been modified to coincide with the administrative structure so that the types of crimes that we saw occurring in the hinterland – interpersonal violence, illegal migration, mining, pollution of our rivers – fell under one police division… We now have four police divisions which are responsible for enforcing the law in those areas.”

His Excellency, President David Granger.

The Head of State, appearing as the first guest on the podcast INSIDE Sources, reminded that Regions One, Seven, Eight and Nine previously comprised a single division.

The Police Division in Region 1 (Barima-Waini) is headed by Senior Superintendent Wendell Blanhum. He was the Officer-in-Charge of sub-division three in the former F Division (interior locations).

In Region 2 (Pomeroon-Supenaam), Acting Commander of the former G Division (Essequibo Coast and Islands), is Superintendent Crystal Robinson.

In Region 3 (Essequibo Islands-West Demerara), Commander of the former D Division (West Bank Demerara-East Bank Essequibo), Senior Superintendent Linden Lord hold that position.

Region 4 (Demerara-Mahaica), due to its large populace, is divided into three sub-divisions; Georgetown, East Bank Demerara, and East Coast Demerara. Assistant Commissioner and Commander Marlon Chapman, former A Division head (Georgetown-East Bank Demerara) is responsible for the capital city. Head of the Police Narcotics Branch, Senior Superintendent Kurleigh Simon is in charge of the East Bank Demerara corridor. Assistant Commissioner Royston Andries-Junor will be in charge of the East Coast Demerara corridor.

In Region 5 (Mahaica-Berbice), Superintendent Yonette Stephens is the new commander.

Region 6 (East Berbice-Corentyne), is headed by Senior Superintendent Calvin Brutus. Regions 5 and 6 originally comprised the B Division (Berbice) previously and was headed by former, now retired Commander Paul Langevine.

Assistant Commissioner Kevin Adonis, who served as the previous Commander for the dissolved F Division (interior locations) which was comprised of Regions 1, 7, 8 and 9, now commands Region 7 (Cuyuni-Mazaruni). Former A Division Deputy Officer in Charge of Traffic Superintendent Ramesh Ashram is now responsible for Region 8 (Potaro-Siparuni). Superintendent Ashram also acted a Commander of E Division (Linden-Kwakwani) for a short period.

Region 9 (Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo) is commanded by Superintendent Keithon King and Region 10 (Upper Demerara-Berbice), by Superintendent Courtland Winter, the prior Superintendent of the Court.