Cabinet approves appointment of new GPL board member 

GINA, Guyana, Thursday, November 17, 2016

Cabinet has given its no objection for Kester Da Costa to replace Leslie Romalho on the board of directors for the Guyana Power and Light Incorporated (GPL).

Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman

Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman

This was revealed to the media today, by Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman at the post- Cabinet media briefing at the Ministry of the Presidency.

Minister Trotman explained that earlier in the year, Cabinet approved a board of directors for GPL with its chairman being Robert Badal. Denise Simmons, Leslie Ramalho, Abiola Wong-Innis, Morsha Johnson-Francis, Tara Singh, and Dr. Mahender Sharma were all installed as members.

Romalho has requested to be relieved of his position given the challenges and responsibility as managing director of his company which covers both Guyana and Suriname, Minister Trotman explained. “As a result, Cabinet considered that there is no objection to Kester Da Costa becoming a member of the board and to replace Romalho.”

Other members of the GPL board are representatives from the Guyana Public Service Union (GPSU), and the Private Sector Commission (PSC). The Parliamentary Opposition PPP/C is yet to name a representative.



By: Ranetta La Fleur


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.