Curfew, emergency measures extended to June 17

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, June 2, 2020

The COVID-19 Emergency Measures (No.3) published in the Gazette 29 April 2020, and effective until June 3, 2020, has been extended to 17 June 2020, as advised by the National COVID-19 Task Force (NCTF).

This also means the 6pm-6am curfew will remain in effect until 17 June 2020.

The Emergency Measures also speaks to, among other things, the restriction on visitations, specific working hours allotted to essential services, preferential treatment for healthcare workers, social distancing and physical distancing protocols, religious worship and domestic travel.

The measures state that persons failing to comply with these measures will be committing an offence under section 152 of the Public Health Ordinance and is liable on summary conviction to the penalty provided under that section.

As such members of public have been cautioned to comply with the curfew and emergency measures that were implemented to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

As of June 1, there are no new coronavirus cases. The total number of confirmed cases in Guyana remains at 153, inclusive of 12 deaths and 70 recoveries.

See below full document – gazetted COVID-19 Emergency Measures No. 3 published on April 29, 2020. (emergency measures on page 6)


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.