Dr. Shahabuddeen, Sandra Adams, other departed MPs remembered in National Assembly

DPI, GUYANA, Thursday, March 15, 2018

The National Assembly today reflected on the lives of former parliamentarians, departed Sandra Adams, Dr. Mohamed Shahabuddeen, Philomena Rayman, Simon Hilton and Mohamed Deen.

Motions expressing sympathy on the demise of these outstanding parliamentarians were also moved in the House.

Minister of Citizenship, Winston Felix.

Sandra Adams, who served as a member of parliament from July 15, 1998, to May 2, 2006, died on January 2, 2018. She was the younger sister of Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Valerie Adams Patterson-Yearwood and was People’s National Congress Reform’s (PNCR) Region 10 Executive and Assistant Director of Community Development.

Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources, Simona Broomes reflected on her vibrant character and her contributions in the House and politically. Adams was also highly praised by Opposition MP, Ganga Persaud.

MPs also paid tribute to Dr. Mohamed Shahabuddeen’s dedicated service to the Parliament. Dr. Shahabuddeen, who served as Attorney General and Minister of Justice from July 24, 1973, to October 31, 1985, passed away on February 17, 2018. He also served as First Vice President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General from December 9, 1985, to February 5, 1988. His service extended beyond Guyana as Dr. Shahabuddeen served as a Judge at the International Court of Justice (ICJ) from 1988 to 1997 and has worked as an Arbitrator and Consultant in International Law.

Sympathy was extended to the sorrowing widower, children, and relatives of former Parliamentary Secretary and MP, Philomena Rayman, who passed on August 16, 2017. She served in the National Assembly from July 26, 1973, to October 25, 1980. She also served as the Parliamentary Secretary in the Office of the Prime Minister from January 1, 1981, to December 31, 1981, and an ordinary MP from January 1, 1982, to August 28, 1992.

The House also reflected on the life of former MP, Simon Hilton Ng-See-Quan, who died on October 21, 2017. He served as MP from November 24, 1992, to October 28, 1997.

Additionally, the dedicated service of the late MP, Mohamed Deen was highlighted by Minister of Citizenship, Winston Felix, and Opposition MP, Odinga Lumumba. Deen served the Parliament of Guyana from December 24, 1985, to October 28, 1997.

Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources, Simona Broomes.


By: Stacy Carmichael


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.