Emergency measures to continue until June 3rd

– airspace remains closed

The National COVID-19 Task Force (NCTF) advises that:

    • the emergency COVID-19 measures gazetted on April 9th by the Minister of Public Health, Hon. Volda Lawrence, and currently in force shall remain in effect until June 3rd, 2020.
    • the daily curfew (18:00hrs to 06:00hrs) shall also remain in full effect. Only gazetted essential services and essential workers will be permitted to operate during the curfew period.
    • the enforcement of all measures will be expanded and tightened by the Guyana Police Force.
    • Guyana’s airports shall remain closed to incoming international passengers until June 3rd. Any request from Guyanese who are stranded overseas to return to Guyana is strictly a matter of public health. All requests therefore will have to be reviewed by the Ministry of Public Health, Health Emergency Operations Centre (HEOC) for guidance and advice. Requests should be sent to local overseas missions (embassies, high commissions, consulates) or directly to the NCTF and email address (to be determined).

These decisions were taken after thorough consideration and deliberations and primarily following the technical advice provided by the HEOC.

The NCTF implores the public to more stringently practice social distancing, adhere to the stay at home orders and observe all public health advisories regarding thorough hand washing and the wearing of face masks.

The NTCF remains concerned about the increasing numbers of confirmed cases in Guyana and the lax attitude of some citizens towards the public health orders and advisories. The extension of the emergency measures, as outlined above, is necessary and advisable in order to combat the spread of COVID-19 in Guyana.