Georgetown now under young leadership

New Mayor and Deputy Mayor elected

DPI, Guyana, Friday, November 30, 2018

The City of Georgetown is now under young leadership with newly-elected Mayor Ubraj Narine. He is supported by Alfred Mentore as Deputy Mayor. Their election followed the swearing in of the elected councillors this morning.
The Mayor-elect, who also represents Constituency One, said the councillors must put aside divisions and work towards improving Georgetown for its residents and transparently manage the affairs of the city.

Narine vowed to be a leader of the people and to lead by example. “We must speak to each other and reach across the aisles of politics, race, religion creed and engage our thoughts and arrive at a consensus… in Georgetown, the environment must be protected, the residents must be given services that do not compromise expediency. Businesses must thrive and young people provided with opportunities for their talents” he stated.

Narine pointed out that he is aware of the many challenges that come with the post. However, he said that in order to overcome those challenges, they must be faced head-on and cohesively.

Minister of Social Protection, Amna Ally described the swearing-in process as “supporting the return of democracy” that saw the involvement of young people. She too called the councillors to put aside their political differences and work together for the development of Georgetown.

“I want to congratulate all our councillors and I want to say at this stage, it is not APNU, AFC or PPP, it is Georgetown, Guyana… I want to call on all of Guyana to come together, to work together, to live in unity and let our main theme be development” Minister Ally underscored.

The councillors who are assuming office are: David Allicock, Eon Bollers, Oscar Clarke, Eketa Edwards, Dexter Forte, Cynthia Stewart, Mark Griffith, Clayton Hinds, John Vanveen, Ayodele Roache, Michael Leonard, Patrick De Santos, Coleen Sampson, Dion Younge, Ubaraj Narine, Nalissa Ferguson, Dimitiri Ali, Alfred Mentore, Akeem Peters, Param Persaud, Ivelaw Henry, Gregory Fraser, Shonelle Smith- Daniels, Heston Bostwick, Yvonne Furgeson, Patricia Chase-Green, Trichria Richards, Denroy Tudor,  Cilesia Hall and Bhishram  Kuppen.

Additionally, members of the finance committee were also elected. They are, Bhishram Kuppen, Yvonne Ferguson, Trichria Richards, Patricia Chase-Green, Ivelaw Henry, Oscar Clarke, and Alfred Mentore. Chairperson for that Committee is Patricia Chase-Green while Oscar Clarke will fill the position of Vice-Chairperson.

The Council will begin duties from January 1, 2019. The election of the new council, Mayor and Deputy Mayor follows the recently hosted Local Government Elections (LGE).

Isaiah Braithwaite.
Images: Keno George.


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.