Minister meets new CH&PA Board on housing agenda

Minister of Housing and Water, Hon. Collin Croal says he is looking forward to working with the new Board of Directors of the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) to make its procedures more efficient.

Minister Croal made the comment during a virtual meeting with the new Board on Friday.  Minister within the Ministry of Housing and Water, Hon. Susan Rodrigues and CH&PA Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Sherwyn Greaves also attended the meeting.

New CH&PA Chairman, Dr. Emmanuel Cummings

Dr. Emanuel Cummings is the new Chairman of the Board, which includes members Mr. Julius Fabaer, Mr. David Armogan, Mr. Michael Hutson, Mr. Cosmos De Santos, Ms. Azeena Baksh, Mr. Yonnick David, and Ms. Chandrowtie Sarran. These appointments were greenlighted by the Cabinet.

The Board held its inaugural meeting on Tuesday, to advance its fast-paced and comprehensive housing plan. More than $3 billion has been allotted in Budget 2020 to expand the robust housing agenda planned by the Government.

Dr. Cummings, who has held the position of lecturer and Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Guyana (UG), also has experience in the housing sector. He previously served as a CH&PA Board member.

The Board will serve from September 10, 2020 to September 9, 2021. Meetings will continue virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic, until further notice.

Other members of the newly installed Board from Municipalities include:

Mr. Rikhiram Ramphal


Office of the Mahdia Town Council

Region Eight

Mr. Chattergoon Ramnauth

His Worship the Mayor

Mayor and Town Council

Rose Hall Town

Corentyne, Berbice

Alfred Mentor

Deputy Mayor

Mayor and Councillors of the City of Georgetown.

Mr. Borris Singh


The Mayor and Town Council of Mabaruma

Barima-Waini (Region One)

Mr. Imran Amin

Deputy Mayor

The Mayor and Town Council of Corriverton

79, Corriverton, Corentyne Berbice

Mr. Brian Lewis

Senior Buildings Inspector

The Linden Mayor and Town Council

Winifred Heywood

Her Worship the Mayor 

The Mayor and Town Council, New Amsterdam

Mr. John Macedo

His Worship the Mayor

The Mayor and Town Council of Lethem

Mr. Kenneth Williams


The Mayor and Town Council of Bartica

Mr. Herman Persaud


Office of the Anna Regina Town Council


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.