NAMILCO, ‘Morning Glory’ Cereal win big at National Quality Awards

̶ GNBS hosts biennial Awards ceremony to honour local companies

 DPI, Guyana, Friday, October 18, 2019

Locally made ‘Morning Glory’ Rice Cereal was among top prize winners following the Guyana National Bureau of Standards (GNBS) Biennial National Quality Awards ceremony held last evening.

The event was the highlight of National Quality Week 2019, which was held as an opportunity to acknowledge the efforts of local companies that operate using the highest standards to provide quality output.

Minister of Business, Hon. Haimraj Rajkumar applauded the companies for their sterling performance and standards. He urged them to continue providing high-quality goods and services to the Guyanese people.

Minister of Business, Hon. Haimraj Rajkumar.

“The hosting of the National Quality Awards by GNBS is a welcome initiative by the government of Guyana, more especially for us at the Ministry of Business. We are happy to recognise those members of our private sector who have demonstrated time and again commitment to superior quality,” Minister Rajkumar said.

All awardees have a track record of demonstrated commitment to maintaining high standards and producing quality goods and services.

Rowen Willabus, Chairman of the National Standards Council, explained the importance of celebrating local companies that are up to par with the set standards. “For us, quality must exist in every local organisation, every business, big or small, every industry and sector of our country’s economy.”

21 companies competed for awards under five categories including Green Initiatives, Agro-Processing, Small Business Services, Manufacturing and Services. There were also Customer-Focus awards, Continuous Improvement awards and health and safety awards.

Among the night’s big winners were, IAST, the makers of Morning Glory Rice Cereal, Rupununi Essence and Pakaraima Flavours, NAMILCO Inc., Quest Medical Centre, Woodlands Limited, Massy Distribution Guyana Inc., Assuria Insurance, and Eureka Medical Laboratories Incorporated.