National Assembly adopts nominees for Public and Police Service Commission

DPI, Guyana, Monday, June 25, 2018

The National Assembly in a late-night sitting adopted the nominees for the Police Service Commission (PSC) at a late night sitting.

Minister of Social Cohesion and Chairman of the Standing Committee on Appointments, Dr. George Norton, moved the motion for the adoption of the eleventh report of the Committee which was presented in the House in April.

The report recommended Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police Paul Slowe, retired Assistant Commissioner of Police, Clinton Conway, retired Woman Assistant Commissioner of Police, Vesta Adams and retired Woman Assistant Commissioner of Police, Claire Jarvis as nominees for the PSC.

The nominations were received from the Association of Former Members of the Guyana Police Force and the Guyana Police Association.

The presentation of the names now sets the stage for President David Granger to appoint the nominees as members of the newly constituted PSC. The commission’s life had expired in August 2017.

President Granger has publicly indicated that the appointments are expected to be made by the end of the year.

Meanwhile, the House also adopted the Committees nominees for the Public Service Commission. Vincent Bowman and Mortimer Livan were put forward in the eighth report of the Committee which was published in March.

The life of the Public Service Commission also expired in August 2017. Last year, the president had commissioned a Commission of Inquiry into the commission which found serious breaches in the operations of the previous body.

The recommendations of the report are expected to be taken into consideration before the appointment of the new Commission, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon had committed.

The Police/Public Service Commission make appointments to public office and can remove and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in such offices.

The nominees for the Police/Public Service Commissions were made in accordance with Article 210 (1) (c) and 200 (1) (b) respectively of the Constitution.

By: Tiffny Rhodius.

Image: Keno George.