Rose Hall Town gets new Mayor, Deputy Mayor

DPI, Guyana, Thursday, November 29, 2018

Sixty-nine-year-old Chattergoon Ramnauth of Lot 2 B, Balgobin Street was elected the new Mayor of Rose Hall Town while Deonauth Harrinarine was elected Deputy-Mayor when the council held its first meeting on Wednesday, November 28.

Initially, the position for mayor received two nominations, however, APNU Councillor, Winston Hope, who was nominated, declined the nomination. The Deputy-Mayor’s position was contested between APNU Councillor, Sandra Chilsom and PPP’s Deonauth Harrinarine. At the conclusion of voting, by a show of hands, 11 votes went in favour of Harrinarine while Chilsom received five.

Speaking briefly with the media, the mayor, a former Estate Manager who served both in the office and field, said he intends to use his skills, education and expertise to make Rose Hall Town a positive example for others.

According to Mayor Ramnauth, among his immediate plans are effective garbage collection, no increase in rates and taxes, construction of several streets and improved drainage and irrigation.

Additionally, the municipality will also work to ensure revenue collection is up to date and at the same time provide a quarterly financial statement and place it at strategic locations in the Town where residents can see how the money is spent and what is available.

Meanwhile, in a statement presented by APNU Councillor Winston Hope to the newly elected body, Hope assured that their coalition councillors will support programmes that are beneficial to the people of Rose Hall and to the Town.

“We, of the A Partnership for National Unity, are here to work together for the development of Rose Hall Town. We will support what we think are programmes that would benefit all the people and the Town and not one set of people. We would like to see democracy; accountability and respect for the rule of law prevail at this council”.

The statement further called for respect of Officers as they are advisors to the council.

The elected councillors are; Arthur Allan Fraser, Roydel Morgan Lewis, Elvis Fitzerald Punch, Vedwaatie Ramnarain, Arjunen Sammy, Rikhram Srikishen, David Fraser, Quacy Cort, Winston Hope, Boybert Bisram, Gaitree Sheonarain, Ingram Veron Rodney, Dave Budhu and Sandra Chisholm.

Story and Images: Nafeeza Sakur.