28 ranks recognised at ‘E’ Division Award Ceremony

— Best Cop hails from Kwakwani

— award ceremony aimed at motivating ranks

DPI, Guyana, Thursday August 1, 2019

As part of the Guyana Police Force’s 180th anniversary, ‘E’ Division, Upper Demerara-Berbice held its inaugural award ceremony, which saw 28 ranks receiving trophies and $190,000 in cash. Held on Wednesday, the event also saw a muster and inspection held.

The ceremony provides incentives to those ranks who displayed bravery, exceptional mannerisms, and dedication. Ranks who were awarded, operated at police stations in Linden and across the Division.

Receiving the Best Cop award was Lance Corporal Carl Franklin, from the Kwakwani Police Station while the first and second runners-up in that category were Detective Tyrone Vanhersel and female Corporal Rihanna Williams respectively.

In his remarks, Commander of ‘E’ Division Linden Lord expressed the hope that the award ceremony becomes an annual feature since it serves as a source of motivation for the ranks. He described the police men and women as “hardworking” and noted that this attribute was demonstrated at the recently held National Awards ceremony where approximately four out of five ranks awarded were attached to the E Division.

Echoing his sentiments, Deputy Commander for the Division, Jermaine Harper, congratulated the ranks for their hard work and dedication. He urged those who were not awarded, to keep their eyes on the prize and see this as an opportunity to work towards goals.

Attending the ceremony were regional officials including Mayor of Linden, Her Worship, Waneka Arrindell and Deputy Regional Executive Officer, Maylene Stephens.