Bipartisan Committee to meet on Constitutional Reform

─ 5th meeting on Friday 

DPI, Guyana, Thursday, December 6, 2018

Members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee for Constitutional Reform are expected to meet on Friday, December 7, its third meeting for the year.

The bipartisan committee was formed in 2015 after Opposition Member of Parliament, Anil Nandlall insisted that the bill, which was tabled by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo to establish a Constitutional Reform Committee, be handed over to the Standing Committee.

The bill was sent to the committee to be examined as it is the body responsible for dealing with constitutional matters.

The Opposition had raised concerns about the Prime Minister leading the constitutional reform process, however, meetings have been minimal, with the last meeting hosted in March.

The committee comprises Chairman, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams SC., Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, Minister of Education, Dr.  Nicolette Henry, Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman and Minister of Public Service, Dr. Rupert Roopnarine.

Opposition MPs on the committee include Nandlall, Priya Manickchand, Dr. Frank Anthony and Adrian Anamayah.

The bill was published on July 26, 2017, and was introduced in the National Assembly on July 27, 2017, and read for the first time.

Anara Khan.


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.