Jumo Primo is 592 Soca Monarch

─Steven Ramphal and Vanilla 2nd and 3rd respectively

─2020 Junior Soca Monarch Relon Sumner is Best Newcomer

DPI, Guyana, Sunday, February 16,2020

Jumo Primo has emerged as the 2020 592 Soca Monarch relieving 2019 monarch Brandon Harding of the crown. This is the fourth time Primo has won the title.

Primo brought down the house with his song ‘Trample Dem’ which spoke of overcoming physical disabilities and challenges in life.

Entering the stage in a wheelchair Primo was then ‘healed’ by a pastor played by Gospel Singer Kester D before going on to blow the competition out of the water. He further reinforced his message by spotlighting a group of special-needs youths.

The Soca artiste told DPI the song has its roots in his own challenges dealing with a leg injury that left him partially incapacitated.

Meanwhile, Steven Ramphal retained second place with his song ‘Be the Same’ and similarly like last year’s competition he missed the crown by one point

Another notable performance in the competition came from Osbert ‘Vintage’ Cain, who was awarded fourth for his song ‘Socaholik‘. Cain received much support from the audience members as he called for more love to be shown to police officers.

I am 592’ by Melissa “Vanilla’ Roberts’ was adjudged third, while visually-impaired 2020 Junior Soca Monarch, Relon Sumner was awarded Best Newcomer

Among those left out of the top 4 were two-time monarch Brandon Harding, Lil Red, Diana Chapman, Kady Kish and Lisa Banton. They all gave good performances but were unable to break into the top four spots.

This year’s Soca Monarch walked away with a $2 Million.


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.