Moraikobai Village Council sworn in


  • Toshao Colin Adrian re-elected

DPI, Guyana, Friday, June 15, 2018

The new Moraikobai Village Council, Mahaicony River, Region Five, was sworn in on June 14. The Oath of Office was administered by Returning Officer, Sandie Ross in the presence of Regional Executive Officer, Ovid Morrison.

The elected council which will serve for the next three years consists of Toshao, Colin Adrian and Councillors Brian Joseph, Rickford Sutherland, Shevon Lambert, Oniel Delivery, Mary Joseph, Orlando Jacob, Kenneth Clinton, Raymond Clinton, Bernita France, Indranie John, Garfield John and Remington Adrian.

Elections for toshao and councillors for the Moraikobai Village Council were held on June 8, at the Moraikobai Primary School. Colin Adrian and former Toshao and National Toshaos Council (NTC) Chairman, Derrick John competed for the position village leader, while 21 candidates contested for the positions of councillors.

Adrian, who won by 158 votes, will serve as Toshao for the second term. His rival, John secured 126 votes.

Elections for toshaos and councillors in 178 Indigenous villages across the ten Administrative Regions in Guyana comes to an end today.

Some 78 women were elected toshaos and councillors during this round of elections. Sharmain Rambajue in Baramita, Region One and Beverley Clenkian in Pakuri, Region Four are just two of the female elected toshaos for the first time.

Young men are also taking up similar responsibilities. Twenty-one-year-old Michael Thomas of Aishalton Village, South Rupununi, Region Nine is one of the youngest Toshaos to have been elected.

By: Syneika Thorne.

Images: RDC, Region Five