MPs observe silence in memory of former MPs

─ 11th Parliament continues, 112th Sitting of National Assembly held

DPI, Guyana, Friday, January 4, 2019

Members of Parliament yesterday took a moment of silence to recognize the late Abdul Kadir, Heeralall Mohan and Ronald Gajraj; former Members of Parliament.

MP Kadir died on June 28, 2018 having served in the Eighth Parliament from April 17, 2001 to May 2, 2006.

Recognition was also given to MPs Mohan and Gajraj, who were also representatives of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP). The MPs passed away on November 7, 2018 and December 15, 2018, respectively.

Gajraj served as Minister of Home Affairs from January 1999 to May 2005 under the Bharrat Jagdeo administration. He was forced to resign under local and foreign diplomatic pressure, particularly from the Americas due to allegations linking him to the activities of a terror gang known then as the ‘phantom squad’.

He was later appointed as Guyana’s High Commissioner to India and Bangladesh. He subsequently resigned from diplomatic service and returned to Guyana and where he kept a relatively low profile until his demise.

Mohan served in the Eighth Parliament from April 12, 2001 to May 2, 2006.

The moment’s silence was called for by Speaker of the National Assembly, Dr. Barton Scotland before commencing the 112 sitting of the National Assembly of the 11th Parliament.

By Neola Damon.

Images: Keno George.


COVID-19 Alert!

Coronavirus disease spreads primarily through contact with an infected person when they cough or sneeze. It also spreads when a person touches a surface or object that has the virus on it, then touches their eyes, nose, or mouth. We urge citizens to practice good hygiene and social or physical distancing also adhere to the guidelines provided by the Ministry of Health, Guyana.